Munich, Verona, Milan, Oh my!

I never thought I’d make my way to the actual Oktoberfest in Germany. It was certainly an experience. For the Texans, just imagine the state fair 12 x on steroids. Food, rides, and lots and lots of beer. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many people in one place, and I’ve been to some very busy cities. We didn’t get to make it into a beer tent. At a 10:30 arrival there were already 30 minute waits to get in. We found our way to a smaller venue and sat next to a nice french couple and their friends. The beer was great and the company entertaining. When the German sing/shout alongs began, it felt like everything you’d imagine coming from Oktoberfest. We walked around taking everything in, and of course I had to get a picture with German dudes dressed in the official Oktoberfest attire. I’d say only 5% of people weren’t dressed. Let me tell you, we looked and felt way out of place. After walking around for a bit at the festival, we took a trip to down town Munich. Took a bus tour like basic tourists and saw the city.
Quite different from America, that’s for sure.The last few hours of our day trip to Germany, we sat around watching locals outside of Oktoberfest. That was a different experience in itself.
For anyone who knows me well, one of my favorite hobbies is people watching. People were drunk off of their asses and it was hilarious. 4 men peeing on a tree at a time, guys and girls passed out on the grass outside of tents, and groups of friends singing aloud huddled in groups. As disgusting as it sounds, my family and I had some good laughs at how ridiculous this place really was. It was surely something to remember.

Saturday we drove to Milan. Didn’t really have much in mind to do except to see the Duomo. It was absolutely breathtaking. It looked more like a backdrop than real life. I’d never seen something so beautiful. We walked, we shopped and my aunt and I enjoyed a bottle of wine. A sweet spot beside the Duomo was the perfect way to end the day.

On the way home from Milan we stopped in Verona, the home of Juliet. Based from Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, it was a site to see.  Juliet’s balcony, a wall to write the name of
your loved ones,
and a lock gate to seal forever loved
ones lost and gained. Lucky me, I have someone so special to place upon the wall for
the rest of time <3

Leave a Reply

